Home / Practice Areas/ Criminal Law/ DUI/DWI

Like most of the states, Louisiana takes a very serious position in regard to driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence. While a first-time DWI is considered a misdemeanor, at a minimum you will face 48 hours in jail, up to two years of probation and upwards of 30 hours of alcohol education requirements.

In addition, most courts will require you perform at least 32 hours of community service. At any time your blood-alcohol level is over .15, 48 hours of jail is mandatory, your fine may be increased to $1,000, and you will be faced with the necessity of using an ignition locking device for at least 12 months.

The penalties for subsequent DWI offenses are even more serious, including the suspension of a driver’s license for upwards of four years and a minimum of 96 hours jail time for a second offense, and even more severe going forward. Keep in mind, Louisiana observes what is called a “10 year look back” period wherein past convictions will impact sentencing and fines on a new offense.

The penalties for even a first-time DUI or DWI offense are serious enough that in addition to losing your freedom for brief period of time, your job may also be at risk if you lose your driver’s license. There are a number of ways to successfully defend you against DWI charges, so if you are arrested on DWI or DUI charges, contact the Law Office of Nicholas J. Muscarello at (985) 345-1010 immediately.